A Couple of Quick Snapshots

1
Disgruntled Journalist: Riley Jones

I took this snapshot of Riley Jones, aspiring Journalist and talented Comedian while he was knee-deep in work setting up a BCM 112 Twitch Stream.

“Growing up, I loved space.  I always wanted to be an astronaut. This has changed over time, but I liked the idea for a long time. I was also interested in comedy, but that is more a natural thing…”

“I will probably either be a freelance journalist, or contracted to a paper-news show. I would really like to either write comedy news, or make documentaries.”

“My goal is just to be happy, to be able to look back and say ‘yea that was pretty good’.”

2
Writer Turned Publisher or Dairy Farmer: Mary Djikmans-Hadley

After an exhausting day of streaming video games I photographed Mary Dijkmans-Hadley, first year UOW student with high hopes for the future.

“I always wanted to be an author, but I don’t really feel I’m talented enough for that, but since I still know what makes a good and successful book I instead want to go into the publishing industry and help more talented people achieve that dream. Either that or own a dairy farm named Mary’s Dairy.”

“I don’t like it when I’m asked a question that I want to answer honestly but the answer is just sad and personal and I don’t want to bring down the mood with my answer.”

3
An Overachiever, Journalist and UOW Student: Patrick Bell

It was moments before a packed BCM 110 lecture when I photographed Patrick Bell, Journalism student and an inspirational figure. Afterwards he shared with me some wise words regarding his goals for the future and his interest in Journalism.

“I was attracted to Journalism because I enjoy being up to date with what’s happening, which is essentially the crux of the profession.”

“I would dearly love to work in the ABC, and I’ve already done a weeks internship in Year 11, but I don’t necessarily plan for anything…it’ll find me.”

“I want to try my best at everything. If I do that, I can walk away happy with whatever I achieve.”

One thought on “A Couple of Quick Snapshots

  1. Love the portrait of Disgruntled Journalist! The slow shutter speed angelically highlights the serene atmosphere the subject ‘Riley Jones’ exudes. Must of been hard finding an angel to capture.
    Some constructive criticism, totally wished you could have captured his dark side in the portrait to give us the full effect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

